Guest Post: Oatmealworm Cookies

Today’s post is by Kim C., a pesca-vegetarian who wrote in to say she’d tweaked a family recipe – with mealworms! Read on for the whole story, and recipe.

oatmealworm

    I grew up in the Midwest where just being vegetarian was considered pretty adventurous. So you can imagine the reaction I got after 15 years of being vegetarian/pescatarian when I described the bug-eating party that I was hosting.

    The party was inspired by a TEDTalk given by Marcel Dicke a few years back called “Why Not Eat Insects?” I couldn’t think of a reason why my friends and I shouldn’t at least try it out.

    “What does that make you?” my mom asked, totally confused.

    I understand; I mean it’s not like there are a whole lot of “entomophagous pescatarians” running around out there. But sometimes you just have to shrug and go with it, especially when going with it leads to discovering a surprisingly delicious chocolate cookie recipe.

    Our party provided a variety of edible insect options, including: chocolate-covered crickets, salted queen ants, scorpion lollies, mealworm trail mix, and even a dehydrated giant water scorpion. But the favorite had to be these no-bake mealworm drop cookies. These rich and comforting cookies have a peanut butter & chocolate smoothness with a Rice Krispie-like crunch. It is a super-easy holiday recipe that my family has enjoyed for years (well, we’ve enjoyed it sans bugs). This version has been mealworm-ified a bit.

Oatmealworm Cookies

½ cup butter
2 cups sugar
½ cup milk
4 tablespoons of cocoa powder (I used
unsweetened Ghirardelli)
½ cup of creamy peanut butter
2 cups dry quick-cook oatmeal
1 cup dry roasted mealworms
1-2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1. In a large saucepan, bring to a boil: butter, sugar, milk, and cocoa, and boil for         1 min

2. Remove from heat

3. Stir in peanut butter and vanilla

4. Stir in oats and mealworms

5. Drop into cookie sized heaps on wax paper and let cool until set

Enjoy!

Kim C,
Los Gatos, CA

9 responses to “Guest Post: Oatmealworm Cookies

  1. Uh, please don’t bring these to a holiday gathering, thanks! I am just grossed out by the idea. Sorry! Love ya! Auntie Lori

  2. Is that a candied scorpion in the background? I have one of those! And those cookies look delicious. We should totally make me some next time I visit.

  3. Love your site!! I’d love to post some of your recipes!

  4. i don’t like to eat bugs but it looked really good

  5. Oooh! I can’t wait to try this recipe, I love these kind of cookies and never thought to try it with mealworms. 🙂

  6. Pingback: 8 Bugs To Try Eating? - The ZocDoc Blog

  7. true vegetarians dont eat insects-they are living creatures too

  8. I believe eating insects is already something that is no longer something to be viewed as “optional”. There’s too much going on in the world, and right here in America, that is screaming in our ears that something really bad is about to happen. The consumption of insects is definitely going to have to play a major role in feeding the high volume of people who are going to be in need of a reliable source of quality nutrition. I’d rather eat bugs than irradiated vegetables any day. But then again, I’m a survivalist who’s actually into eating bugs, whether cooked or raw, depending on the circumstances. I’ve been watching this site for several years and only now have decided to post here, and the reason is, it’s time for Americans to wake up to what the rest of the world knows about the nutritional values of eating insects and get on with it !

Leave a comment